appRules Portal includes a selection that allows you to check-in and check-out project databases.
Technical users can check-out subsets or the entire project database to enable them to work remotely or to perform testing or other development activity.

The projects are locked after checkouts, not after checkin (see below)

Project databases can also be checkeded out for installation on departmental computers or for updating any computers in the Development-Test-Production chain.

checkin_checkout.jpg  

Check-Out Project Database

 

To check-out a project database, select CheckOut All Metadata from the CheckIn/CheckOut menu of the application.

Follow the on-screen instructions and click the OK button to create the new project database.


checkout.jpg 


 

Check-In Project Database

 

To check-in a project database, select CheckIn All Metadata from the CheckIn/CheckOut menu of the Configurator application:

 

image220.jpg 

 

 

Follow the on-screen instructions and click the OK button to check-in the project database.

 


 

Locking and Unlocking Projects

appRules includes features to lock and unlock projects to minimize contention when using the system for team development.

When using appRules in a multi-user mode, projects are automatically locked when they are loaded into the Studio environment, and unlocked when they are closed or unloaded.  To view the lock status of a project, select the project and go to the project detail window   the LockStatus property:

image221.jpg 

At design time, if a project is being held by another user, a warning window will be displayed.